Clarksville Office

Montgomery County Office

1989 Madison Street, Suite 253
Clarksville, Tennessee 37043

Phone: 931.451.8053

Toll Free: 800.705.2121

Fax: 615.353.0963

Contact Us
This form does not yet contain any fields.
    Practice Areas

    Workers' Comp

    Injured at work? Act now. Timing is crucial. Learn the 4 critical steps to getting your workers compensation benefits. When injured at work, immediately report the injury in writing to the employer. Many workers comp laws require injured workers to file the state's version of "First Report of Work Injury or Illness" as soon as possible after a workplace injury. Read More: Workers Comp


    Attorneys can help clients receive the payment they are owed from their employment. Settlements often include pay that was illegally withheld or underpaid (back pay), liquidated damages (double the amount owed), punitive damages for extreme misconduct (such as time shaving or off-the-clock work without pay) and attorney’s fees.

    Family Medical Leave

    If you work for a major Tennessee employer (50+ employees), the Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) ensures you up to 12 weeks of unpaid time off for the birth or adoption of a child or for a serious health condition. This same Tennessee maternity leave law prevents discrimination against women for being pregnant.

    Employment Retaliation

    Retaliation (also known as retaliatory discharge) is a form of workplace discrimination when an employer "gets back" by firing or disciplining an employee for being a law-abiding citizen. It is unlawful for a Tennessee employer to fire you for reporting illegal activity or for refusing to participate in these activities. 

    Who Can Take Maternity Leave, Sick Leave or Family Leave?

    Any Tennessee employee who has worked for over a year can take FMLA leave, provided that during the year they have worked 1,250 hours. That’s an average of just over 24 hours a week.

    A Tennessee Employer with more than 50 workers within 75 miles of the worksite must give maternity leave, adoption leave, family leave and sick leave. If you work in the Nashville office with five people and the Memphis office has 500 people, you may not be be able to able to take FMLA leave. But, if you work in Hendersonville with five people and the company has 25 people in Nashville and 20 more in Brentwood you could make a claim if you were denied leave.

    In Tennessee, your employer may not take any form of retaliatory action if you seek legal counsel with a qualified workplace attorney to report discrimination at your workplace.

    Legal Help for Denied Tennessee Employees 

    The Higgins Employment Law Firm can help you receive restitution from your employer. This may include back pay, compensatory damages (including “front pay,” or the money you would have earned if you stayed employed), reinstatement, promotion and/or accommodations.

    For a free evaluation or to speak with a Tennessee employment lawyer about your claim for denied FMLA leave, contact Jim Higgins.